Permanent Delegates


Each province is represented equally, as the NCOP consists of ten delegates of each of the nine provinces. Of the ten provincial delegates, six are permanent delegates and four are special delegates.

The permanent delegates are appointed by the nine provincial legislatures, while the four special delegates consist of the Premier of the province and three other special delegates assigned from members of the provincial legislature.

The work of the Permanent Delegates to the NCOP is co-ordinated by a Provincial Whip, while the Chief Whip of the NCOP in Parliament is responsible for co-ordinating the business of the House and overseeing the duties of the Provincial Whips.

The South African Local Government Association (SALGA) represents organised local government in the NCOP and is entitled to ten (non-voting) representatives who may participate in debates and other activities in the NCOP.